User Access Tutorials

User Access is an option under the Menu button. The procedures are the same for all modules, but not all modules have the same access rights.

💡These tutorials explain how to set a module's user access from its Menu button: copy, edit, add or remove users and batch update.

How to Copy User Access From Another Module

Warning

This procedure replaces the existing users with those of the copied module.

  1. Navigate to User Access.
  2. Click Actions (button) > Copy Users from another Module.
  3. Select a module from the dropdown list next to Copy Users From.
  4. Click Copy (button).
    • Note: The copy includes each user’s Hide Costs and Edit Prices.
  5. Confirm the copy on the popup.
  6. Edit any of the access rights as needed.

How to Edit User Access

Info

Users who do not have access to records such as contacts, customers, suppliers or items can still create transactions. However, they can only select those records on transactions and cannot use the context menu actions to view or edit information (e.g. change a delivery address).

  1. Navigate to User Access.
  2. Click Edit (button) on the top row of buttons.
  3. Entity = Select an entity from the dropdown list or select All.
    • Note: For a Transaction Type or Service Type, the list shows the registered entities, branches or tills, depending on the type’s Enable Entities setting, and the column caption is Entity, Branch or Till (PoS).
  4. View = Select a View option from the dropdown list or select All.
    • Note: View access is required for New, Edit and Delete access.
  5. Setup = Check the box if the user is allowed to change the setups.
  6. New = Check the box if the user is allowed to create records (Edit access is required).
  7. Edit = Check the box if the user is allowed to edit records.
  8. Delete = Check the box if the user is allowed to delete records.
  9. Hide Costs = Check the box to hide the cost, markup and profit columns from the user (Transaction Types with the Pricing setting Sell Price or Sell Price (Any Currency) only). Unchecked by default.
  10. Edit Prices = Uncheck the box to stop the user from changing the prices on the items (Transaction Types only). Checked by default.
  11. Click Save (button).

How to Add or Remove Users

Note
  • Users with admin rights automatically have access to this tab and can assign all the permissions to themselves.
  • This procedure adds or removes users. Once a user is added, their access must still be set.
  1. Navigate to User Access.
  2. Click Actions (button) > Add/Remove Users.
  3. Move the users you want to add from the Available to the Selected section using the navigational arrows.
  4. Move the users you want to remove from the Selected to the Available section using the navigational arrows.
  5. Click Save (button).
  6. Close the popup using the X in the corner.
  7. Edit the user access as needed (you can use the Batch Update function).
  8. Click Save (button) if it is not greyed out.

How to Change Access for Multiple Users (Batch Update)

Info

User access rights are linked. Because of these links, rights may be changed when Save (button) is clicked. For example, a user must have View rights to receive Edit rights. A user without edit rights cannot create a transaction. However, the rights granted for Copy Rules might override this (that is, a user might still be able to copy a transaction to create a transaction).

  1. Navigate to User Access.
  2. Click Edit (button) on the top row of buttons.
  3. Select all the records you want to edit (use Ctrl + left-click to select more than one).
  4. Click Actions (button) > Batch Update.
  5. Select an option from the dropdown list next to Update. Depending on the module, only some of these options may be available.
    • View = Select the applicable view option:
      • None
      • All
      • Own (User)
      • Own (Rep) (transactions and services)
      • Own (Resource) (Timekeeping)
    • Setup = Check the box to grant access. Uncheck the box to revoke access.
    • New = Check the box to grant access. Uncheck the box to revoke access.
    • Edit = Check the box to grant access. Uncheck the box to revoke access.
    • Delete = Check the box to grant access. Uncheck the box to revoke access.
    • Hide Costs = Check the box to hide the costs. Uncheck the box to show them. (Transaction Types only.)
    • Edit Prices = Check the box to grant access. Uncheck the box to revoke access. (Transaction Types only.)
  6. Click Update (button) and confirm the change.
  7. Edit any of the records manually if needed.
  8. Click Save (button).

Report an issue with this page

For more useful feedback, select the text on the page you are reporting on, then click Feedback again — or continue without selecting anything.