Status Tutorials
- All the Master Data and Transaction modules have Status fields, which can be used to manage the data.
- Transactions can have both Header and Item statuses.
- You may create as many statuses as you need. However, there is a finite list of Status Groups to which each status must be allocated.
- Status settings define conditions within the workflow (e.g. a transaction is pending, complete or reconciled).
The procedures are the same for Assets, Contacts, Customers, Entities and Suppliers. In all cases, the status functions are under Menu (button) > Edit Statuses when you view a list of entries.
💡These tutorials explain how to create, edit, delete and reorder statuses.
How to Create Default Statuses
Info
- This feature is only available if statuses are not yet created. The default statuses that are created differ between modules.
- For example, for customers, these statuses are created:
- Prospect (Pending Group)
- Suspended (Pending Group)
- Active (Active Group)
- Closed (Cancelled Group)
- Navigate to Edit Statuses.
- Click Add Default (button).
- Edit the statuses as necessary.
- Note: You can rename, delete and add statuses.
How to Create Unique Statuses
- Navigate to Edit Statuses.
- Click Add/Edit (button).
- Click the top row and fill in the details as follows:
- Code = Enter a short description for the code (e.g. Pending).
- Description = Enter an explanation of when the status is used (e.g. Pending approval).
- Default = Select New from the dropdown list if the status applies to newly created entries.
- Group = Select a group from the lookup list of groups. The options differ per module. Typically, these options are available:
- Pending: The entry must still be approved or should not be used (e.g. the account was suspended).
- Active: The entry is active.
- Cancelled: The entry is inactive or cancelled (e.g. the account was closed).
- Colour = Click inside the colour block and select a different colour from the available colours.
- Click Save (button).
How to Edit Statuses
- Navigate to Edit Statuses.
- Click Add/Edit (button).
- Edit any of the fields.
- Click Save (button).
How to Delete a Status
Note
Once a status is used, it cannot be deleted. If you try to delete it, a popup explains where it is used.
- Navigate to Edit Statuses.
- Click Add/Edit (button).
- Right-click the status to remove and select Delete.
- Confirm the deletion on the popup.
How to Change the Order of Statuses
Note
- The order of the statuses should match the order in which they are used (e.g. Pending > Active).
- This order helps to automatically set the next status in the hierarchy when certain processes are completed.
- Navigate to Edit Statuses.
- Click Add/Edit (button).
- Right-click the status to move and select Move Up or Move Down.